events j oin j obs

Reminder: Numerous State Minimum Wage Increases Take Effect January 1, 2017

Employers should be aware that numerous states across the country have enacted minimum wage increases that will go into effect in January 2017.

Although the current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the federal law does not supersede any state or local laws that are more favorable to employees. Therefore, if a state has a minimum wage that is higher than the federal minimum, employers subject to the state minimum wage law are obligated to pay the higher rate to employees working in that state.

Below is a list of states that have enacted minimum wage increases for 2017, along with the new minimum wage:

  • Alaska: $9.80 per hour.
  • Arizona: $10.00 per hour. The state minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2018.
  • Arkansas: $8.50 per hour.
  • California: $10.50 per hour. The state minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $11.00 per hour on January 1, 2018. Note that several municipalities in California have their own minimum wage, which must be paid if higher than the state minimum wage.
  • Colorado: $9.30 per hour. The state minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $10.20 per hour on January 1, 2018.
  • Connecticut: $10.10 per hour. Note that the city of New London has its own minimum wage for municipal workers and contractors, which must be paid if higher than the state minimum wage.
  • Florida: $8.10 per hour. Note that the city of Miami Beach has its own minimum wage, which must be paid if higher than the state minimum wage.
  • Hawaii: $9.25 per hour. The minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $10.10 per hour on January 1, 2018.
  • Maine: $9.00 per hour. The state minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2018. Note that several municipalities in Maine have their own minimum wage, which must be paid if higher than the state minimum wage.
  • Massachusetts: $11.00 per hour.
  • Michigan: $8.90 per hour. The state minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $9.25 on January 1, 2018.
  • Missouri: $7.70 per hour.
  • Montana: $8.15 per hour. Note that the cities of Bozeman and Missoula have living-wage ordinances applicable to city employees, which must be paid if higher than the state minimum wage.
  • New Jersey: $8.44 per hour.
  • New York (effective December 31, 2016): $9.70 per hour for Greater New York; $10.00 per hour for Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties; $10.50 for New York City (small employers); $11.00 for New York City (large employers). Note that the city of Syracuse has its own minimum wage for city workers, which must be paid if higher than the state minimum wage.
  • Ohio: $8.15 per hour (gross receipts of $297,000 or more); $7.25 per hour (gross receipts under $297,000).
  • South Dakota: $8.65 per hour.
  • Vermont: $10.00 per hour. The state minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2018.
  • Washington: $11.00 per hour. The state minimum wage is also scheduled to increase to $11.50 per hour on January 1, 2018. Note that several municipalities in Washington have their own minimum wage, which must be paid if higher than the state minimum wage.

For more information on this matter, please contact Ellen E. Hoeppner at (313) 309-4256 | eat0@eau0eav0eaw0, or another member of Clark Hill's Labor and Employment Practice Group.

Top